Articles on: Content Management

How to set up Favorites

In this help article we will tell you how to enable the favorite items feature for your website visitors and create a dedicated page where they will be able to see the marked items via the link with a ?favorites=1 query.


With this feature enabled, your website visitors will be able to mark the selected items as favorites (or 'like' them) and then view them on a dedicated page. This feature does not require user account as all the data will be stored in their browser and will be saved after reloading the page.


Since the data is stored in the visitor’s browser it will be saved until the visitor clears the website data. Using Incognito mode will not allow visitors to save the favorite items.


Enable Favorites feature


  1. Go to the Content Tab -> Content options.
  2. Switch the Allow visitors to save favorites toggle on.



  1. Save the changes.


Now your customers will see the heart-shaped buttons next to the item images.



Clicking that button will add the item to 'favorites'. The 'favorites’ will be seen via query string ?favorites=1, for example, https://my-favorite-things.spread.name/?favorites=1


An example of the results returned with the query string


Create a 'My Favorites' page


You can create a dedicated page where your visitors will be able to see all their selected items on one page during their next visit. This will simplify the navigation for them. 


To build such a page:


  1. Go to the Pages&Links Tab and click Add link button.



  1. In the New link settings, paste ?favorites=1 into the URL field.



  1. Change the link name and set up the aliases data for this link to make it more user-friendly: add a title and subtitle, customize the link, etc. 


Fill in the fields in the alias settings to create a 'My favorite' page


Now your visitors will be able to see the items marked as ‘favorites’ by clicking the button in the navigation menu. 


This is how a 'Favorites' page can look like on your website



The items marked as 'favorites' will be stored in visitor's browser until they clear the website data.

Updated on: 26/08/2026

Was this article helpful?

Share your feedback

Cancel

Thank you!